Sports in Guam

Continued from my earlier post Welcome to Guam:  2002 (part 10).

“8/15/03:  We just got back from flag football skills assessment.  I found out from the director that he got a lot of “complaints” last year about my kids:  that they are TOO big!  Mr DL was probably the youngest player out there last year (he’s in the 5-7 year old group).  But his skill level is 5-7 year old.  So…it was funny to hear that.  I just think all the other kids are too small :).  (my kids were never on the growth charts, height or weight, when they were younger – they were always well over 100%.  Right now, my 16 year old son is 6’3″, my 14 year old daughter is 5’10”, and my 12 year old son is 5″9″, and they are all still growing!)  I went to a spinning class at the gym yesterday for the first time.  It is bike-riding on a stationary bike – with music and some additional aerobic activities put in with it.  My legs are spaghetti today (really sore spaghetti).  I thought since I run that I wouldn’t be this sore, but Oh My!!  The instructor is another wife in the squadron, and she is in sickeningly great shape.  She does the class everyday, but the MWF classes are the only that are during school hours, so I might start going to those.  If I don’t die this weekend first.  SR”

“2/26/04:  Dear Home, Mr DL had his first ever baseball game today, and he was so excited.  It was a blast to watch him play because he was so into it.  He wore his uniform all day  He made the only put-out in the game (scooping up a grounder and throwing the runner out at first and hit three triples which in all reality were home runs that the third base coach stopped).  It was a good time.  Today I was asked to go to Hong Kong with the Guam Rugby Club to another tournament.  I am still hurting from the last three games, but I see this as a once in a lifetime opportunity.  I will be able to say that I played rugby (although not well) at the international level.  Plus it gets me out of the office for a week into a cooler climate.  I am excited but am stocking up on Motrin and buying much needed pads and a helmet.  Hope all is well, G8r”

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦

One response to “Sports in Guam

  1. Oh my, those are “big” kids. My daughters are 5’5″ at 12, and 5’2″ at 10….and people all of the time ask…what I feed them.

    I say, did you notice that their dad is 6’4, and I’m 5’8?!?!

    Genetics has nothing to do with “what they eat.”

    I’m afraid of spinning classes. I’m afraid my legs would come unattached to my hips– have a great rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

