Space-A’ing From Guam

Continued from my earlier post Welcome Home:  Guam 2002 (part 6).  Space-A means “Space Avaiable” for flights that military planes take between bases.  They are free to military, families, and retirees when there is space available after military personnel and gear are on a plane.  Sometimes the space is jump seats in a C-130.  These were the best for my kids when they were young because the noise  from the plane drowned out any noise my kids made, and the crew loved taking  kids around showing them the cockpit, etc.  Things you sometimes have to have for these flights are a lot of time and patience.

“6/12/03:  Well, we have had a day of it here in the Pacific.  We are still on our little island of Guam.  The flight that we wanted to get on ended up being for duty personnel only – after we sat in the terminal for 2 hours.  Oh well.  I think there is another flight we will try to get on in the morning.  They couldn’t tell me this afternoon how many, if any, seats there will be on that one.  So, we shall see.  I started the day at 6:30 when my alarm went off.  A pilot from the squadron was going to stop by the house on his way to work to pick up something and ended up not coming because he got called in at 3:30 a.m. for a search and rescue flight.  Anyway, I woke up to the sound of “drip, drip, drip” also.  I thought a faucet was left on.  I got up and my feet went “squish, squish, squish.”  The toilet in the hall bathroom got backed up last night sometime, and the flap did not lay back down like it should, so our hallway and about  2 feet into each of our bedrooms was in about an inch of water.  I went to the BX on base here to get a shop vac and they were out.  I was running around getting things from outside inside (getting ready for our trip) and then also had to go to KMart to get a wet/dry vac – at least they had one – and a cool one at that.  It has a neat blower that disconnects from the top also.  Anyway, we barely made it to the terminal to check in, but then we ended up not going.  So, we are on our way to bed and hopefully will be on our way out tomorrow.  Love ya, SR, Jay, Lulu, and Mr DL”

“6/13/03:  Travel Diary, June 13 (Friday, the 13th!)  G8r, I just got off the phone with your mom and told her we are trying for another flight this afternoon going to McChord AFB (Tacoma), Washington.  There are 10 seats…  I think there are a few more flights this weekend going a variety of other places, Wicita, KS, Trenton, NJ, Yuma, AZ, and Travis (San Fran).  Hopefully the next e-mail will be from Florida! ~SR”

“6/13/03:  (To G8r) SR just called.  They are scheduled to leave Guam in about 1.5 hours and fly to McChord AFB.  They should arrive there late tonight.  She will probably come here via Southwest Airlines.  We are looking for them to be here sometime late on the 14th.  Mama”

“6/13/03:  I am sure the kids will be happy to get back to Florida.  It gives me a sense of ease to know that they are back there.  It will be good for the kids to be around you and Daddy.  Sometimes they drive SR nuts.  Growing up with two sisters, she still isn’t used to the dumb things boys do.  Just tell her some of the dumb stuff R (my husband G8r’s brother) and I did.  It was neat to talk to you from the beach in Fujarah.  Give the kids a hug for me.  Love, G8r”

Another thing about space-a flights, they may not take you to your final destination.  We were trying to get to Florida from Guam, but we only got as far as Washington state.  So once we arrived, I was on the phone making reservations with a commercial airline to get us the rest of the way there.

2 Comments

Filed under ♦♦Other Experiences♦♦

2 responses to “Space-A’ing From Guam

  1. Bonjour! Thank you for stopping by my blog. Yes, I love Paris. It’s truly my home away from home. There is no place on earth I would rather be (most of the time). I am excited to read all that you have written. Also, I am a brat (why they call kids in military familes that I will never know! And since I am all grown up now, what does that make me?)

    Merci!

  2. Dropping by to say ‘hi!’ I hope you feel better soon! Sickness surely is a trying time.

Leave a Reply

