Journey Around the World

When I started this blog 8 months ago it was the first day of school for my kids.  At the time I wished I had started blogging sooner.  You see, our family has been travelling around the world for the past 17 years.  I met my husband 19 years ago this month.  He was on his first liberty from Aviation Officer Candidate School in Pensacola, Florida.  I was working my way through college at the time.  Twenty months later, we were married and he was wrapping up his flight training there. 

Since then we have lived on each coast of the US and on 3 different continents and have travelled to over 20 countries.  In 1 month, he retires from the Navy after serving 7 1/2 years in the Army Reserves and 19+ in the Navy.  My kids know nothing else, and we are excited and nervous at the same time to leave the military life.  We are moving to a city with a population of just over 500.  A lot of my husband’s family lives there.  He moved back to the town when he was 12 (the same age as our youngest son).  His father was in the Army as well, so he has been connected to the military most of his life.  We have visited there many times for holidays and summer vacations, so the kids and I have gotten to know the area pretty well.

I have enjoyed our journeys around our world.  Tomorrow I will continue my reminiscing by sharing our experiences in Guam.

4 Comments

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Military Experiences♦♦

4 responses to “Journey Around the World

  1. I think that’ll be quite the change…good luck!

  2. Oh, I can’t wait to hear about your experiences in Guam! We almost went there instead of here to Everett because my husband needed to get his warfare pin. Sadly, the tenders in Guam weren’t available, so they sent us to a carrier (our first experience with the surface navy) to get his pin. The Lincoln is in dry dock now, so he’s going to ride some subs out of Bremmerton this Summer/Fall so he can be dual qualified and hopefully make 04. If not, then 03 is the end for us through the LDO program and with the time he already has in.
    It would have been so nice to have been able to go to Guam. We’d also love to go to Italy, but I heard that they were going to discontinue the sub fleet, or most of it, there. We were also offered England, but declined because of the warfare pin issue….have to get that done first.
    We’ve still got 9-12 years left in the Navy! I’m interested to hear how your transition goes!

  3. Amy

    Thanks for stopping by my blog- yes, chocolate is oh too good and seems to be everywhere! 🙂

    That’s great you get to travel so much-I bet that makes for many amazing experiences!

  4. My hubster and I want to do as much traveling as we can before we start a family!

Leave a Reply

