Susie Homemaker Here

I don’t think I have been earning my r-superman-logo-pinkish lately, so I decided when we came back from Florida Sunday night that things needed to change a bit around here.  I got up today determined to get some things done around the house.  My first thought was to weed the gardens – but alas, it has been raining off and on all day.  Oh darn!  So instead, my day has been spent in the kitchen.  I’m even wearing an apron – too many clothes have been stained because I was too lazy to grab the apron on the back of the pantry door!  Dinner was in the crockpot by 8:45 AM, and 4 loaves of whole wheat bread are sitting on my counter (homemade, of course).  Three dozen fruit and nut cookies are in the oven and smelling oh so delicious.  I got the bread and cookie recipes from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook and hope that the family will enjoy them later today. 

Last night I made dinner in a Tupperware Stack Cooker.  My mom bought this for my birthday years ago, and I enjoyed using it especially when my husband was deployed (it makes meals for 4).  It’s been a while since I last used it, and I came across its cookbook the other day when I was marking recipes for this week’s dinners.  The recipes aren’t advertised as the eat-clean type, but most use fresh ingredients.  I told my kids that we were going to eat better starting this week and I am going to buy more real foods and ingredients instead of frozen meals and the like.  When we sat down at the table last night, my daughter asked me if dinner was one of those good-for-you-meals.  I told her yes; we had spinach-stuffed chicken, creamed corn, and maple candied apples.  It was good for us and it tasted good too!

I think the cookies are ready.  I gotta go try one before the kids come home from school and chow them all down.

3 Comments

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Work Experiences♦♦

3 responses to “Susie Homemaker Here

  1. Wow!
    You are organized and on the ball! I’m impressed!
    I have no idea what we are having for dinner, and it is 4:30! Leftovers?! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today, and drooling over my Reese’s Trifle!

  2. HI! Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I hope your hubby enjoyed your text—who I am kidding? I KNOW he loved it. what guy wouldn’t? I think I need to take my own advice and shoot mine a text right now too! ….(might take me 20 minutes to type it, BUT..i WILL do it!) Have a great night!

  3. Yay for cookies!! Thanks so much for visiting my blog!! I actually want to go get some cookies now, or candy.. I’m not picky!

Leave a Reply

