From NYC to Florida

I really enjoyed the time I got to spend with my daughter this past weekend.  Our trip to NYC was fun and exhausting.  We arrived Thursday night and went to dinner and a play, Mary Poppins.  It was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!  Really, it was awesome.  Friday we got up (not so) bright and early to a rainy, gray day.  But that didn’t slow us down.  We headed back to Manhatten where my daughter’s choral group performed in the largest cathedral in the world, the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.  Their voices echoed throughout the building; it was amazing.  Next stop was a tour of Radio City Music Hall; the group got to meet 2 of the 200 present-day Rockettes and see how the revolving stage works from down below.  Next was free time for lunch and some souvenir shopping.  That night we saw another play, The Phantom of the Opera.  Saturday we packed up for our 7-hour trip home.  But before we left the Big Apple, we went to Top of the Rock and saw a 360* view of the city 70 stories up.  Afterwards, we had lunch at Hard Rock Café and arrived home just before midnight.

This weekend we head to Florida for Spring Break, and hopefully we will find a place to live when we arrive in June while our house is being built.  I can’t believe we are 70 days out from our pack-out.  My husband and I sat down last night with our kids after dinner to talk about how they feel about this move.  It will be different than any other they have done.  I hope that we can make this move as easy as we can on them.  Some of our (my husband’s and my) anxieties have transferred to them, so I’ve got to work harder at trying to remain as calm as I can with this move.  I tend to seem a little stressed at packing time.  I just feel like there is so much to do, and I want it all done as close to perfection as possible.  I need to try to not get anxious when things don’t go like they are supposed to and just breathe.

Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Other Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

