Mail from Japan

Continued from my earlier post Our First Overseas Adventure:  Japan 2000 (part 3). 

“June 2000 (letters sent to Granddad and Grandma in the mail)  Red roses are beautiful in the summer because it is sunny.  Right now it is summer.  I like roses very much.  Roses are red.  Violets are blue.  Sugar is sweet.  And so are you.  Roses are blue.  Violets are too.  Kids are blue.  So are you.  Roses are silver.  Roses are red.  How many people are in the bread?  Love, Lulu

Dear Grandma and Granddad, I hope you are having a great time at your house.  What are our cousins doing?  Are you buying Pokemon cards so you can trade them with me?  I also hope Granddad has seen a deer or a bear.  Are you catching big fish when you are putting the worm in the water?  Have our other cousins come to your house and had a great time there?  What day are you going to come to our house?  My (baseball) team is in first place.  I am going to have a Dodger’s party on June 18th.  Love, Jay”

And then e-mail…”6/29/00  Dear Grandma, You said that Daddy was 53 1/4″ tall when he was 8.  I am 54 1/2″ tall.  How big is Trooper(her dog)?  Have any trees been falling down in Peter Jone’s sink hole?  Is there any water in the sink hole?  Have our cousins gone fishing and caught anything yet?  Have you seen any snakes around the darkroom?  We have seen 3 crabs here outside our house.  I have been practicing with Daddy and sometimes he throws the ball in hard places and sometimes I catch them.  Hope you are having a good time in Florida at your house with Granddad.  Bye Bye.  See you later, Jay

I love you, Grandma & Granddad.  I am 49 3/4″ tall.  Momma measured me on the wall today just like you do it.  I have been to Bible school, and tomorrow is our last day of VBS.  Has the letter gotten to you already?  Two Japanese girls came to visit us last week; their names are Chiemi and Nami.  We made cookies, brownies, and spaghetti and meatballs together with them.  We had a great time with them.  We’re going to go to their school for a picnic on Saturday.  We have lots of flowers in our garden; we have red roses that you would like.  We went grass-sledding on a big, huge hill, and it was fun and it was hot.  I was getting really tired because the sun was so hot.  It was so fun; I wish you could come grass-sledding with us.  Bye Bye. Love, Lulu.

Hi, Grandma & Granddad, You come and play with us at our house.  I want to go in a big airplane; that is real fun.  I  am 43″ (7, 8, 9 , 10) tall.  Say bye-bye to Mamoo.  Bye, Grandma and Graddad.  Mr DL”

When the kids were younger, I used to type e-mails for them when they wanted to send a message to someone.  It was fun to hear what they wanted to say.  At this time Jay had just turned 8, Lulu was 5, and Mr DL was 3.

Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Kid Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

