Baby Boy

My youngest is 11 for a few more hours.  He has been counting down the days to his 12th birthday – probably for the past 364 days.  This will be the last year that we have a pre-teen in our house.  Next year they’ll all be teenagers.  Wow!  Oh, the hormones that will fly.

I can picture in my head the events that took place 12 years ago today.  I started to feel contractions around dinner time and we started timing them, of course.  When they were coming regularly 3 to 5 minutes apart, we called a wonderful neighbor who came to watch our older two while my husband and I made our way to the hospital 25 miles away.  As with my other two, even though I was having the regular contractions, I was told to go walk around because it wasn’t time.  Twenty-four hours after they began, we finally had another son.  I remember asking the nurses if I could stay in the hospital as many days as allowed; I think it was almost 3!  As much as I love being in my own bed at home, I was really enjoying the rest I was getting in the hospital.  I know that sounds funny, but I knew that when I got home, I would have 3 children under the age of 5 hedging for my attention nearly 24/7.

My son’s been asking me for the past few days if he can open one gift the day before his birthday, I guess a birthday’s eve present.  I keep saying “no,” that tomorrow is his birthday, and he will enjoy opening all of them on his birthday.  Well, my husband just came in to ask me, while on the phone with his mother, if our son can open the present she sent him tonight.  I can’t believe after I finally convinced him that it wasn’t going to happen, that they come along and can’t wait any longer than he can!  So we are waiting for our oldest to get home from lacrosse practice so we can all sit down together for dinner for him to open it.  I know he’s going to love what she sent; it’s a Florida gator football jersey.  She wants him to be able to enjoy wearing it to school on his birthday, and I think he will love it.

Hopefully, it won’t spoil him for his remaining birthdays and he won’t expect to have birthday’s eve presents every year.  Thanks, Grandma!

Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

