What Would You Do?

Today my husband came home for lunch and discovered that someone had hit one of our cars parked in front of our house, probably some time this morning.  There was no note, no one came to the door (I had been home all morning cleaning), nada.  He checked close by for some possible suspects, but I’m not sure if we’ll ever know who did it.

What would you do if you hit a parked car?  I hit a car once.  Just after we arrived in Guam a few years ago, a friend let us use his car while we waited on ours to arrive from the States.  His was lower to the ground and had a longer front end than I was used to, and when I went to park at a grocery store, I bumped the back right panel of an already banged up rental car.  Lucky for me, there wasn’t a scratch on my friend’s car, but there was a small dent and scratches on the rental.  The person renting the car was sitting in it, so I didn’t have to put a note on the windshield and wait for the inevitable.  I got the name of the rental company and worked it out with them pretty quickly.

Another time while I was waiting at a stop sign behind another car, the driver in front of me started to cross the intersection and decided halfway out that he couldn’t make it.  So he put his car in reverse and backed into the front of my car as I had already started to pull forward to the stop sign.  He then proceeded to put his car back in gear and went through the intersection when it was clear.  I immediately took off after him, honking at him for several blocks until he finally stopped again.  I confronted him and told him to sit still while I checked out my car.  Nothing had been hurt, but I had been quite surprised that he didn’t even feel a thing backing into me.

We were pretty upset about the hit and run today, but there wasn’t much we could do except call the police to get a report for the insurance company.  I don’t wish condemnation on the person who did this, but it sure would have been nice if he’d just ‘fessed up.

5 Comments

Filed under ♦♦Other Experiences♦♦

5 responses to “What Would You Do?

  1. Funny thing, I backed into a car at the local Dollar GEneral this week. It would have been so easy to leave, but instead of doing the wrong thing, I stayed and waited (about 15 minutes) while the person who owned the car finished shopping and then traded insurance information. It really was just a small transfer of paint, but still, I was raised to man up and take responsibility.
    Sorry that not everyone is like that though.

  2. Hi There.
    Stopping by via SITS.
    Today I’m leaving 100 comments.
    Wish me luck!
    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com

  3. Oh no! I’m sorry that happened to you! I appreciate you coming by my blog. It turns out, I kept having no comments ~ when I logged off and tried to comment myself, the form wouldn’t even come up. So I went into blogger and changed the format, and now I have comments.

  4. I would have left a note on the windshield with my contact info. I hate when people don’t own up to their mistakes!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. When I went from driving my little Volkswagon Beetle to a huge BOAT of a car, I was backing out of a parking space and bumped another car. I hopped out and, though I couldn’t see a single scratch, I left a note that I bumped their bumper backing out and didn’t see any scratch, but wanted to be sure they knew what happened in their absence. I was in college at the time and the man did, in fact, call me to tell me that there was a fine crack in the plastic lens that covered one of his lights (presumably done by my bump) and that he’d take $22 for a replacement. Glad he didn’t ask for more!

    WOW! You’re brave to chase someone down. I’m not sure if I’d have the guts to do that with all of the whackos out there these days. We had a hit and run a few months back. It was a college girl (hubby is a professor) and she left a HUGE dent. However, the kind of funny part is that she went into the college building to call her dad and tell him that she hit a car and needed to know what to do. The secretary in that office overheard the whole conversation and gathered that the girl’s father told her to just leave if no one was there. She did. And the police tracked her down just an hour or two later since she was recognizable by the college staff. She was in FAR more trouble than she would have been had she just handed over her insurance.

Leave a Reply

