My Battle with Kindness

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.” (Plato)

I used to have that posted on my desk years ago at one of our past residents.  I found it in a magazine and knew it was something I needed to work harder at.  It had been lost and forgotten, probably in one of our moves, until this past weekend when I was bored and playing around on my Facebook page.  I was filling in some of the blanks on my info pages, Interests, Hobbies, Favorite Books, etc.  One category was Favorite Quotes, and I remembered this one.  

I am often quick to judge people.  First impressions are big for me.  I am a huge analyzer.  I usually stand back and observe new situations; apparently I’ve been doing this since I was very young, according to my mother.  When a big decision needs to be made, I study all the pros and cons before making my choice.  But with people, I often get a feeling about them after my first or second meeting with them.  Sometimes, it’s not in my conversations with them, but in their interactions with others and often how they treat their families. 

I’m really glad that I stumbled onto that category.  Over the years, I’ve grown more and more frustrated with people and what I have perceived as rudeness, laziness, or otherwise.  I used to care what others thought of me and took great care in how I reacted in situations.  Lately, however, I’ve come to expect rudeness, and I often tell people what I think of it when they are.  If I don’t quite get up the courage with a certain person, then I often take out my frustrations on someone else, usually a member of my family. 

I haven’t been the best example to my kids and would like to remedy that by showing them that we shouldn’t be quick to judge.  We don’t always know others’ circumstances, so we shouldn’t get so upset when they do something that hurts our feelings.  Sometimes it’s just forgetfulness or unintentional oversight on their parts.  I have to remember that we’re all human, and I forget things too.  We all have a battle of some sort to deal with, so I’m going to try harder to be kind.

5 Comments

Filed under ♦♦Me Experiences♦♦

5 responses to “My Battle with Kindness

  1. Hi there!

    I think we all suffer from this from time to time. Big hugs to you and it’s so nice to *meet* you!

  2. Your blog is lovely! I was just thinking about how my reactions affect my children in the car this morning. I enjoyed stopping by your blog.

  3. I really enjoyed your blog today. I found you through SITS and am so glad! What beautiful, honest thoughts you share here. I, too, am often quick to judge. Then I feel terribly guilty when I see what I’ve done. So often I find that the person I’ve judged is going through a terrible ordeal.

    The Plato quote, is SO true. Isn’t it?!

    (oops, fixed my website addy)

  4. Pingback: Weather, Softball, and Plato « Life Experiences of a Southern Rose

  5. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

