Searching For Some Motivation

A friend invited me to join a book club a couple of months ago.  I love to read but have been having a hard time getting into a new book since I finished the Twilight series.  I thought that this would be a great way to get back into the magical world of reading.  The first book to read for February’s meeting was Anna Karenina.  I have read about 1/5 of it so far.  It really is an interesting story, and I want to finish it… 

Last night was the second meeting, and the book of the month was The Book Thief.  It is about a little girl during the Holocaust period.  After a few chapters, I went back to A K because I just couldn’t get into it.  Late last week, however, I returned to it because I knew I needed to be ready for the meeting.  I finally got to the point where I want to know what happens next, but I still did not get but half way through it.  I wasn’t the only one who hadn’t finished reading either book, so there really wasn’t too much discussion on the books at the meetings.  But it was okay because we still hung out and had a nice conversation.  I got to have some adult time and meet some new people, too.  I hope that I can still get through both of these books and the new one we chose for April, Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austin, before our next meeting.  I actually have all of her books on my reading list, so I am excited. 

I’ve been having a hard time getting motivated to do things lately.  I started running on a schedule again for the umpteenth time 4 weeks ago.  I was doing really well, until yesterday came around to start week 5.  I worked in the yard this past weekend because the weather was so wonderful, and I woke up Monday morning extremely tired.  I should have run today after taking yesterday off, but motivation never found me.  Chocolate did, but it didn’t help.  What am I to do?

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Me Experiences♦♦

One response to “Searching For Some Motivation

  1. I hate it when I get a book that bogs me down. I feel like I’m obligated to finish it even if it makes me want to fall down and sleep. I have only ONCE in my entire life quit on a book. And believe me, it was horrendous. I just couldn’t take it anymore (maybe if I had some wine coolers or something, huh?) LOL.
    I am so glad that you called today. I’m getting more and more excited about you all getting here permanently.
    You’ll have to set boundaries, cause we’ll be all up in your kool-aid all the time if you don’t.

Leave a Reply

