Ay Oh, Let’s Go!

The kids left for school this morning decked out in orange and blue.  They don’t care that the colors here are very similar to that other Florida school.  They proudly wear their Gator colors everywhere they go.  We are anxiously awaiting tonight’s game.  It should be a great match up between last year’s Heisman winner and this year’s. 

We are a big sports family.  My oldest son’s first word was “ball” probably due to the fact that my husband started tossing  a ball around with him as soon he was able to hold one.  He started his first league sport (t-ball) when he was 4 and has continually played some sport each season since.  My other two fell right in behind him when they turned 4 as well.  As much as I like watching college football and professional baseball, I love watching my kids play more than anything.  My oldest is steadily improving his times in swimming, and my youngest has his first basketball game this Saturday.  My daughter is waiting for softball season to begin again in a couple of months, so for now she will be on the sidelines with her dad and me. 

I sometimes miss playing a sport; I enjoyed basketball, softball, volleyball, and soccer as a kid.   But they weren’t as organized then and, in my small high school, were a bit limited.  I started running on the high school track team my senior year and have enjoyed keeping that up as much as possible over the years since.  I like it because it’s an individual sport.  No one has to rely on me, and I can do it whenever and wherever I like.  The downside is I have to drag my own behind out the door or to the treadmill; no one’s calling me to say that it’s time for practice.  And if I don’t get off of this computer and get my shoes on now, I won’t get in my run for today.

Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

