Thank you, Mrs. Weeble

Apparently it’s unseasonably cold here, but I wouldn’t know ’cause I am scheduling my lunch and bathroom breaks around the Game Show Network.  Ask me any trivia question, and … well, I might remember one answer.  I just spent about 30 minutes on my Facebook page.  I don’t think I spend more than a minute a week on that site normally – usually responding to friend requests.  I have about 50 or 60 requests to join this group or take that quiz.  It’s just so overwhelming.  But this past week, when the drugs haven’t had me dozing, I have been catching up on snail mail, paying bills, e-mail, and other internet stuff.  It’s amazing that if I don’t check e-mail just one day, it takes about a week to catch up again.   So, imagine not checking it for over a week! 

I haven’t told many people about my surgery.  I’m kind of a private person, and I don’t go around tooting my own horn.  So when my husband brought dinner home tonight, I was so surprised.  The wife of a friend at work made it and sent it home with him (Thank you, Mrs. Weeble :).  The military community is a great one.  This, however, is the first place we’ve been stationed with a very small unit.  Other units have had spouses’ clubs, and it wouldn’t have mattered that I usually keep to myself.  We would have had meals lined up every night for at least one week with back-ups waiting in the wings.  Having teenage children and a husband who is thrilled to get back in the kitchen and do his experimental cooking has made up for that.  I am so thankful for them.

And now we are a week from Thanksgiving.  Wow.  Where did 2008 go?  I really like Thanksgiving.  It’s a no-gift-giving, fairly non-commercial, warm and fuzzy holiday.  I like just hanging out with the family.  And then there’s the left-overs.  Turkey sandwiches, turkey soup, turkey pot pie, turkey chili, turkey and rice…  Can’t wait!

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Me Experiences♦♦

One response to “Thank you, Mrs. Weeble

  1. Yum.. We are going to take dinner to the firehouse this year. YAY!! Can you say “NO CLEANUP” at my house?
    The other thing is the G family Christmas party is at my house this year. Something about there being enough room for everyone to sit, are they kidding me? You know as well as I do that those people could trash a garbage dump. LOL. I’m excited, but kind of nervous. I’m not a Martha Stewart. I don’t decorate. I put up a tree and that’s it. No cute, crafty stuff. I just don’t have the talent for it. Oh well, I guess at least they’ll have something to talk about once they go home, huh?
    Actually, I’m looking forward to y’all getting here. New house, new party central. LOL.
    Glad you’re getting back to normal.

Leave a Reply

