It’s Not Fair!

I hate it when other people upset my children.  Mainly, because I have to listen to them whine for the next 30 minutes of my life.  And secondly, because I don’t want some idiot messing with my angels!  My youngest son is participating in an after-school basketball tournament this month.  When I picked him up today, the first thing he said was that his team had lost.  And then he proceded with, “And it wasn’t fair!” 

“Not fair” is one phrase I don’t like to hear from my children’s mouths.  I usually reply with, “Life’s not fair.”  Sometimes things go your way, and sometimes they don’t.  And when it doesn’t seem to go quite fairly…well, sometimes it turns out better than you thought it would.

So, on our way home, my son proceeded to tell me about what happened when one of the referees blew her whistle during the game.  Being a rule-follower (that I have proudly made him into), he stopped and looked at her for the call while the other children continued to play.  She looked at him and said, “Oh, I was just kidding!”  The other team proceeded to score at that moment.  He told me that after the game he went to the tournament director and tried to explain the situation and was told to stop being emotional. 

E – MO – TION – AL ?!?!?!  I think I would have gone hari-kari on her.  And then she would have seen emotional.  Why must people like that make rule-followers like us yell, “BUT IT’S NOT FAIR!”?

Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Kid Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

