Fall is in the Air

I think it’s officially fall here in Virginia.  It seems like on October 1, the temperatures dropped 15 degrees over night.  I’m not used to the cooler temperatures this soon.  I remember when we lived in Florida, it was in the 80’s until October 31, the (my) official mark of autumn there.  Last night, I actually grabbed another blanket after I got in bed.  I’m going to have to change the thermostat from a/c to heat.  I don’t love the cold – at all!  My fingers and toes can be cold even in the middle of summer.  But I do love the fact that Halloween will be here soon. 

When I started seeing Halloween items in the store in August, I didn’t like that.  And now there’s Christmas stuff out there.  I like to enjoy one holiday or season at a time, before I start seeing decorations for the next in the stores.  They started putting Halloween candy in our military grocery stores a month ago.  And it’s right at the front door when you walk in!  If I start buying that stuff now, it won’t last until Halloween!  Are they insane?  No, I guess that means more sales for them.  But I resist the temptation each week I do my shopping.  I am so proud of myself. 

But, now that it’s October, it is finally time.  I am going to pull all of my Halloween boxes down from the attic this weekend.  I love Halloween.  I love to make costumes and then help the kids dress up and put on make-up.  I love the excitement that’s in the air.  And this year, it’s on a Friday!  Oh, the parties that will abound.  We are going to be here in Virginia for Halloween night.  Our Swedish friends arrive a few days before, and we are going to show them American trick-or treating.  Two years ago, when we lived in France, we spent a two-week school break around Halloween with them in a large house in the country in southwest France in an area called Dordogne.  It was beautiful!  Since the French don’t trick-or-treat, we decided to do a scavenger hunt for the candy.  The kids all dressed up in costumes and searched the large yard with clues in English, French, or Swedish.  It was my husband’s idea so that they would have to help each other.  They had a ball.

The couple, who speak English better than some Americans do, is around my husband’s and my ages, but their oldest child is the same age as our youngest.  It has not, however, affected the great friendship that we have formed, even the children.  They share French as their spoken language, but I think there is a children’s language used there also.  They have a lot of fun together.   

The day after Halloween is when the big party takes place down on the farm in Florida (where my husband’s family lives).  I have heard about some of the Halloween parties held there when he was a child, so I am expecting big things.  We are still debating on what costumes to wear to the party.  We’ve thrown around a few more ideas, but nothing’s lighting any fires still.

For now, we’ll just put away the flip flops and shorts (boo hoo!) and start thinking about carving pumpkins and making pies (pumpkin and apple and pecan…yum yum!) and snuggling up with a blanket and a good book.

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Family Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦, ♦♦Kid Experiences♦♦

One response to “Fall is in the Air

  1. I, too, have never been a part of the Halloween party here. But I can tell you, it has these people wired up.
    Rob has been busy cutting the “trail” that everyone will walk down. I have to tell you, it’s spooky enough in the daytime, I’m not sure how I feel about walking down it at night. I cannot wait to meet your Swedish friends.

Leave a Reply

