Eeny Meeny Miny Moe

My children are not going to be professional athletes, that I know of, but it is so much fun to watch them play.  Yesterday, both of my sons had events at the same time.  I hate it when that happens because I have to eeny-meeny-miny-moe which one I go watch.  With three in sports it happens often, but I still don’t like it.  Since I didn’t have a lot of time yesterday (getting ready for the house to be taken over by six 14-year old girls for my daughter’s birthday slumber party), I decided to watch our oldest at his cross country meet since it was a bit shorter in length.  Since they don’t play on a field where you can sit and watch, we crossed back and forth through a large field of knee-high grass as he popped out in different areas of the course.  It was a bit warmer than we expected; the temperatures have been dropping into the 70’s this past week, so it has been much better for running.  Yesterday it must have been back up towards 90 with 100% humidity (it felt like it anyway); I was sweating just standing out there.  So I know my son had to have been feeling a bit sluggish.  He didn’t PR (better one of his previous times and make a Personal Record) but was the 2nd to cross the line on his school’s “B” team.  He came in ahead of 2 or 3 boys he’s been trying to pass with each race, so it was exciting to see him happy in achieving another goal. 

After we left his meet, my husband dropped me back at home to finish preparations for the party.  He went on to watch the end of our youngest’s football game.  When he came home, my son immediately told me the bad news; he often starts with, “I’m sorry to tell you, but…”  His team lost by a touchdown, but then the good news came.  On one of the last plays of the game, he caught a tipped ball while playing on defense and ran it back 70 yards for a touchdown.  I immediately felt regret for wanting to get back to clean and decorate for the party but was so glad my husband was there to see it.  I almost wish I could have been there just to see my husband’s reaction as he is still on crutches from his hip surgery.  I can almost see him half running, half hobbling along the sideline cheering at the top of his lungs.

Act 3 came around 5 pm with 6 giggling girls at our kitchen table.  Since my daughter loves crafts, they sat around giggling and talking and giggling some more while knotting hemp into bracelets.  Then they made English muffin pizzas for dinner after which we partook of cake and ice cream.

Luau Flower Birthday Cake

Luau Flower Birthday Cake

It was interesting to see the interaction among the girls.  I know how my daughter is around me and our family.  But I got to see another side of her as she spoke (giggled) with her friends, each of whom had a different personality from the next.  The spectrum ranged from one girl who was somewhat quiet and serious to another who was very bubbly and talkative.  Our daughter is somewhere in the middle, so it was neat to see how she interacted with the different personalities.  Last night there was a lot of (did I already mention?) giggling.  She is often stressed over school work and tests, so I think it was a nice break from all the seriousness in life. 
Leave a comment

Filed under ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦

Leave a Reply

