Here, There, and Everywhere

I kind of feel like I live in the land of Dr. Seuss sometimes.  Some days, it’s just non-stop fun.  I rolled out of bed at 6:30 this morning to take my oldest to a dentist appointment at 7.  What dentist is open at 7 am?!  Mine.  I guess it’s good in that the kids never miss any school when teeth-cleaning time comes around every 6 months.  We found out today that it’s time for wisdom teeth extraction, so we’ll have another patient in the house soon.  I then took him to school where I spoke with his driver’s ed teacher from last spring to find out how we go about getting his driver’s license.  Either times have changed by huge measures since I was 16 or Virginia’s got some funky laws.  When I was 15, I walked into the DMV, took a written test, and walked out with my learner’s permit.  The day I turned 16, I walked into the DMV, took a driver’s test, and walked out with my driver’s license. 

Now, 15-year-olds with learner’s permits must drive at least 45 hours with a licensed driver, 10 of which must be at night, and all of this must be recorded and signed by the aforementioned licensed driver(s).  When this is complete, along with the mandatory driver’s ed class, he has to wait until 9 months after the learner’s permit is issued before he can apply for a driver’s license – yes, “apply.”  After the license is applied for, an appointment is set with the court, which is usually about 3 months after the application date.  Until that time, he is an unofficially licensed driver with a learner’s permit and a piece of paper that says so.  On the court date, he is to appear before a judge with a bunch of other unofficially licensed drivers and go through a licensing ceremony.  When the driver’s ed teacher said “ceremony” I almost laughed; he was serious.

It’s things like this that keep life interesting.  Because if it was just getting up, cleaning the bathrooms, going to the grocery store, picking up from cross country practice, doing the laundry, dropping off at football practice, cheering at a softball game, vacuuming the house, delivering to a girl scout meeting, and getting up to start it all over again, then it would get boring.  Tomorrow starts at the dentist again but this time with my youngest.  I’m pretty sure he won’t need any teeth pulled, and I know he won’t be attending a licensing ceremony anytime soon.  But I’m sure there will be something else that will sneak its way in there.

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Kid Experiences♦♦

One response to “Here, There, and Everywhere

  1. Yeah. Sounds like your fun meter is pegged into the green.
    We started our day with Prayer at the Poles. Rob went with Carl to the high school and I went with Chris to the Middle School. It was great. There were about 70 kids, a few parents, a few teachers, and a couple of custodians. Logan lead some praise songs and the kids all got to do the Sing Like You’re Saved dance moves (ask Lisa) and Amanda read a couple of verses from the Bible and then we all gathered in this huge circle and prayed. I hope that we, as Americans, will still have the right to do this next year and for all the rest of the years of our lives.
    I am laughing out loud at the licensing ceremony stuff. Where do they come up with all this stuff? Wait, I wonder if it’s like that here, too.
    It’s been uhm…uhm….a long time….since I had to take the test for my license. Wow.

Leave a Reply

