Geaux Team!

My husband has managed to somehow make friends with an LSU fan at work.  I don’t know how he did it.  The only thing I can manage to come up with is that he justifies that they’re a part of the SEC.  Actually, I have a sister who married into an LSU family, so I guess they can’t be all that bad.

His friend and wife are coming over to watch the football games at our house this weekend.  But first, the morning will begin on the local football field; we’ll watch our youngest son play.  Then we’ll be off to our daughter’s softball field for a game.  I love watching our kids play sports.  Living overseas gave us the opportunity to expose them to some that we wouldn’t have learned about otherwise.  When we lived in Guam, we learned how to play rugby and cricket.  In Paris, both our sons continued their love for rugby and played on teams there.  My youngest loves to talk about his trip to Italy to play in a tournament with French, Germans, Italians, Brits…  In Ireland, my husband couldn’t wait to get to a sports store and buy hurleys after we watched a semi-pro match.

My husband started coaching teeball when our oldest son was 4.  When we lived in Japan, our son got the opportunity to play on a Japanese Little League baseball team; that was an unforgettable experience.  The team had a couple of games in which we had to spend the night away from home.  I felt like we really got to see the culture there first-hand.  My husband has coached each of our children in some sport, baseball, soccer, basketball…  I helped out as team mom a lot and even coached a tee-ball team when he was deployed.  Now that they are old enough to be on school teams, we are a little less involved in the coaching.  But we are still there to cheer.  Our oldest decided to run cross-country this year, and even though it’s not a team sport, per se, we still go cheer for him and his teammates.  He improves his time with each meet and hopes to break a 19:00 5-K so he can letter at the end of the season. 

I have decided to get back on the track myself.  When I was in school, I liked playing sports as well, soccer, basketball, volleyball, softball…, but sports teams weren’t as big for girls back then.  I was on the track team my senior year and liked running the longer distances like my son.  I have been an on-and-off runner since then.  I ran a couple of 5-K races in college, and then when we moved to Guam 6 years ago, the whole family got involved in racing.  They had a race of some kind every weekend.  I even did a few sprint triathlons.  After we left Guam, we moved 3 times in 2 years.  I had other things that took priority so didn’t have a lot of time to workout.  But now that my kids are starting to pass me when I run, I am encouraged to get back out there and have a go of it again.  I won’t catch up with my oldest son, but maybe I can try for my original goal back in Guam to get my 10-K under an hour.  I’ve been asked if I’ll run a marathon.  I’m not quite ready for that one yet, but maybe one day. 

My daughter hates to run.  I must admit it can get boring at times.  I try to vary where and when I run; I’m always looking for new music to put on my iPod.  I know it will get me in the shape I want to be in, so I do it.   I also do it to keep my kids motivated to stay active.  If they see me running or working out, they can’t say, “Well, you don’t do anything.”  There have been seasons when they didn’t want to play a sport again.  They were tired of playing in the outfield or on the line.  So we just have them try something new until they find what they do like.

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦

One response to “Geaux Team!

  1. Judy

    We are going football crazy down here. ALL of the boys are playing and that involves 4 different teams and 4 different games per week! So far I have been to all of them except to the one that was played the same time that Abby, Gracie and Bethany got to cheer at halftime for the middle school team.

    They went to a cheerleading clinic last Saturday and had a ball. I was dark but I still got some pictures ( not great but still they are pictures) The high school varsity cheerleaders ran the clinic and during the halftime cheering they even raised the girls up and let them fall back down. Needless to say the three were thrilled beyond words!

    We have a varsity game tonight in Newberry. I am taking Carl and Chris. Should be fun.

    Judy

Leave a Reply

