The World of Make-Believe

My husband and I love to read and have encouraged our children to escape into the same world of the printed word as well.  Although my husband likes non-fiction more often, I usually prefer to escape from reality into another world through fiction.  Today I finished the book Standing Still recommended to me by its author Kelly Simmons.  At first I found it perplexing, but then as I got further into the story, I couldn’t put the book down.  I think I read it in less than 24 hours.  It moved back and forth from the present to different times in the past which was needed to explain the reasons the main character reacted to things the way in which she did. 

So now I am searching my bookshelf for a new read.  I have been told the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer is excellent.  My daughter has read all that are out and cannot wait to see the movie.  I thought since she read them, they are more for teen-agers.  But now my friends are telling me how good they are.  So now I am curious.  I am not into vampire stories whatsoever, but then I don’t think my daughter would have been either.  And it’s a love story; you forget there are vampires… 

With Halloween coming, maybe it is an appropriate book to take on next.  I love Halloween and making costumes for the kids each year, although there have been a couple of times that I’ve given in and gotten the store-bought ones.  We are going to a family Halloween party this year and are trying to decide what to go as.  My youngest son suggested the Flintstones, which I think would be kinda cute, but my husband and I want to be a little more unique.  My daughter piped in and said that we can all be elves – I’m not so sure about that for a family whose heights range between 5’8″ and 6’3″, plus I’m not so keen on the pointy ears.  My husband thought of Little Red Riding Hood; he could be the wolf, one son could be the woodsman, the other a squirrel (think Hoodwinked!), our daughter could be Red, and guess who gets to be Granny? – I was sort of hoping for something a little more glamorous.  So the search continues.

A bonus for Halloween this year is that our good friends from Sweden are coming for a 2-week visit around that time.  We’re excited about showing them how we celebrate.  And to show them where we are from in Florida.  My husband’s family owns a large farm (where we will stay for part of their visit) and is the perfect place for the Halloween party.  I am from the panhandle and hope to show them the beautiful sugar white beaches I grew up on.  We met them while we lived in Paris, and we got to visit their home in Sweden during one of the vacation periods.  It was so interesting to see similarities (and differences) first-hand of how we all live in the world.  Before we got to travel outside of the US, all the stories about other countries seemed magical to me, kind of make believe.  But now we’ve got real stories and memories to share with each other.

1 Comment

Filed under ♦♦Fun Experiences♦♦

One response to “The World of Make-Believe

Leave a Reply

